"As The Palaces Burn"


01. Ruin
02. As the Palaces Burn
03. Purified
04. 11th Hour
05. For Your Malice
06. Boot Scraper
07. A Devil In God's Country
08. In Defense of Our Good Name
09. Blood Junkie
10. Vigil

RATING: 8/10

"With trembling hands you'll beg for mercy / I'll show you none," roars LAMB OF GOD front man Randy Blythe in "Purified". It's a fitting battle cry for the sophomore release from the Richmond, Va. quintet, for "As The Palaces Burn" — with points docked only for brevity (three years yields just 38 minutes?) — should lay waste to other metalcore pretenders and firmly cement the group at the forefront of the modern metal movement.

While more and more extreme acts continue to commercialize their sound by following the predictable abrasive verse/clean chorus pattern, it's refreshing to find LAMB OF GOD refusing to court mainstream acceptance and instead wholeheartedly embracing its brutality. With confrontational lyrics, relentlessly harsh vocals (Blythe must gargle with broken glass), a virgin-tight rhythm section and riffs heavy enough to test the endurance of even the toughest moshpits, "As The Palaces Burn" is uncompromising in its aural assault. Even with STRAPPING YOUNG LAD's Devin Townsend — who famously made SOILWORK's sound so accessible on 2002's "Natural Born Chaos" — engineering and co-producing, the album retains a raw, organic feel.

Townsend guests, albeit subtly, on "A Devil In God's Country", while TODAY IS THE DAY's Steve Austin (producer of LAMB OF GOD's 2000 debut, "New American Gospel") appears on "11th Hour", a haunting tale of alcohol abuse and one of the few tracks on the album that doesn't convey images of Armageddon. Other songs such as "Blood Junkie" and the title track vividly decry the effects of capitalism and war - a tad ironic considering that "As The Palaces Burn" would be a fitting soundtrack to World War III.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).