(Century Media)

01. The End of All We Know
02. Pathfinder
03. Into Nothing
04. Fall Away
05. Fracture
06. Night Crossing
07. For All to See
08. Ascend
09. Utopia
10. A Depth That No One Dares

RATING: 7.5/10

Time can be cruel. One of the UK's most respected modern forces, BLEED FROM WITHIN emerged at a time when the Scots' blend of brutal metalcore and post-New Wave Of American Heavy Metal grooves was as close to the mainstream flow of things as it was possible to be. Over the course of four studio records, they have seldom put a foot wrong, and in addition to being a widely hailed live band, BLEED FROM WITHIN could easily feel aggrieved that they haven't ascended to a higher level of success and acclaim. Them, as they say, are the breaks. They certainly deserve a resurge in prominence on the strength of "Fracture": a fifth album that does little to redefine the band, but that smashes the living shit out of every other young ensemble still ploughing this furrow. In truth, there are precious few bands that sound like this right now, and so rather than being some defiant throwback, "Fracture" immediately stands out; resolute, unrelenting and ever-so-slightly radical.

Now exhibiting the kind of confidence and authority that keeps the likes of MACHINE HEAD, DEVILDRIVER and LAMB OF GOD at the top of their respective games, BLEED FROM WITHIN have grown as songwriters, too. The strongest songs here — opener "The End of All We Know", the insanely catchy "Pathfinder" and the gnarly, SLIPKNOT-tinged "Fall Away" among them — eschew obvious post-millennial metal clichés in favor of what feels like an advanced, upgraded take on the form. Still a red-blooded heavy metal band at heart, BFW are as comfortable with a white-knuckle, thrash metal lead break as they are with a staccato, lurching beatdown (significantly, "Fall Away" has plenty of both), and when it comes to hooks, occasional nods to the radio-friendly niceties of the post-KILLSWITCH ENGAGE set are always perfectly pitched, intrinsically gritty and often buried deep in a claustrophobic shit-storm of riffs and machine-gun kicks. Even at a surly mid-pace, BLEED FROM WITHIN are far more "Roots" than "Rose of Sharyn": "Night Crossing" has a huge chorus that benefits greatly from the sheer ferocity of vocalist Scott Kennedy's delivery: no pre-pubescent crooning for these boys, thank Satan. Meanwhile, "Utopia" edges towards a more tech-metal approach, proggy textural touches included, while still sounding a runaway bulldozer clattering through your living room. A simple pleasure, perhaps, but a pleasure nonetheless.

A curmudgeon might argue that this style of metal reached saturation point a long time ago, but BLEED FROM WITHIN were always a cut above the rest and "Fracture" is a classy show of strength. Let's hope their persistence reaps righteous rewards this time around.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).