"L.D. 50"


01. Monolith
02. Dig
03. Internal Primates Forever
04. -1
05. Death Blooms
06. Golden Ratio
07. Cradle
08. Nothing to Gain
09. Mutatis Mutandis
10. Everything and Nothing
11. Severed
12. Recombinant Resurgence
13. Prod
14. Pharamaecopia
15. Under My Skin
16. K(now) F(orever)
17. Lethal Dosage

RATING: 8/10

One of the great things about SLIPKNOT's incredible commercial success thus far is that it's opened the door for other musically extreme acts to follow in their footsteps without having to rely on radio or MTV support to make their mark. Among the new bands leading this wave is Illinois' MUDVAYNE, a four-piece whose Epic Records debut is set to establish them as one of the frontrunners of the genre.


Among the most impressive aspects of MUDVAYNE's sound is the group's knack for showcasing their undeniable instrumental skills while performing a crushingly heavy style that, at its most extreme, brings to mind the aforementioned SLIPKNOT (whose Shawn Crahan—a.k.a. "6"—executive-produced this release). Indeed, with the exception of Sweden's MESHUGGAH, there has never been another band playing music as unwaveringly brutal as this while displaying a level of musicianship that would put 99% of their counterparts to shame. Where MUDVAYNE are clearly different from MESHUGGAH, however, is in their acute awareness of the importance of injecting dynamics into their songwriting, and unlike the Swedes, they never fall into the trap of consistently producing sheer brutality for the sake of it, always spicing up their songs with small doses of infectious melody that add much needed texture to the material (as on "-1" and "Death Blooms", two songs that also appeared on the band's last George Langis-produced demo). Having said that, the group's penchant for producing vocal hooks is still largely underdeveloped, consequently causing some of their tracks to sound uncomfortably indistinguishable from one another, particularly as you delve further into the CD. Neverthless, this is an aspect of MUDVAYNE's songwriting that will undoubtedely improve in time, and it is not likely to prevent the group from making a serious impact with this impressive debut release.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).