"Revolting Room"

(Century Media)

01. Intro
02. Come Get It
03. Slave The Way
04. Purify
05. Anthem For A Falling Star
06. Disturbing The Art Of Expression
07. Take As Needed
08. Jesus Sells
09. Never Give In
10. One Of Us

RATING: 9/10

Once incorrectly dismissed as nothing more than second-rate MACHINE HEAD copyists, San Francisco Bay Area's SKINLAB have clearly been working hard at elevating the quality of their songwriting and establishing a relatively identifiable sound of their own, something that is especially evident on the group's third full-length CD.

Although SKINLAB haven't drastically altered the formula that made their first two albums such crushingly heavy releases in their own right, they have definitely made significant strides in streamlining their approach and placing greater emphasis on catchy choruses, as clearly apparent in virtually every song on the album, from the relentless brutality of "Slave The Way" (my personal favorite) to the effective dynamics of "Purify", one of the more adventurous tracks on the offer. By comparison, opener "Come Get It" features a fairly one-dimensional but utterly infectious groove that is somewhat different for SKINLAB, while "Disturbing The Art Of Expression" is a moody and unbelievably heavy number that contains an impressively versatile vocal performance from Steev Esquivel, who still stands as arguably one of the most fearsome-sounding singers in metal today.

Having initially attempted to mix the album under the guidance of producer Steve Evetts (i.e. SEPULTURA, EARTH CRISIS), SKINLAB wisely enlisted longtime collaborator Andy Sneap to give the album the kind of thick, crunchy feel that is consistent with the group's earlier efforts without compromising any of the band's increased musical accessibility—a combination that has easily resulted in SKINLAB's best-sounding CD to date.

Although SKINLAB shifted a respectable 50,000 units with their last full-length record, 1999's Disembody—The New Flesh, they are understandably hungry to take their band up a notch and get their hands on a piece of the success enjoyed by many of their less-deserving counterparts. Based on this advance CD, I can say with confidence that the group will go a lot further in achieving that goal than has thus far been the case.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).