"Velvet Noise"


01. Twelve Feet Tall
02. Bleeding
03. Drive
04. Tonight
05. Leech
06. My Game
07. Crack of Dawn
08. Out of Sight
09. This is Not an Exit

RATING: 9/10

A completely convincing mixture of FEAR FACTORY, STRAPPING YOUNG LAD and MACHINE HEAD, Denmark's RAUNCHY are easily the country's best-kept secret and possibly one of the finest European “modern metal” bands I have heard in quite some time. The group's debut album, spectacularly produced by INVOCATOR mainman Jacob Hansen, is chock-full of excellent riffing, impressive vocal melodies and enough raw, unadulterated power to put most of their American counterparts to shame.

Whatever RAUNCHY may lack in the originality department, they make up with the sheer ferociousness of their delivery, which is nowhere better evident than in the killer opener “Twelve Feet Tall” (download full MP3 here), a first-rate cut that is as brutal as it is utterly catchy. The rest of the album, while featuring material of varying tempos and levels of aggression, is consistently song-oriented, with big, fat hooks always at the core of the band's songwriting, which is clearly far more advanced than their youthful status would otherwise suggest.

Released through a small Danish label called Drug(s) (a subsidiary of Mighty Music), Velvet Noise has thus far failed to receive the kind of attention it truly deserves, and this can only be considered a disservice to the metal community as well as the band themselves, whose music is bound to be appreciated by fans of all the above-mentioned groups as well as anyone else into crushingly heavy tunes with an emphasis on catchy choruses.

For more information, visit RAUNCHY's official web site at this location.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).