"War To End All Wars"


01. Prophet Of Doom
02. Crucify
03. Bad Reputation
04. Catch 22
05. Masquerade
06. Arpegios From Hell
07. Miracle Of Life
08. Wizard
09. Prelude
10. Wild One
11. Tarot
12. Instrumental Institution
13. War To End All Wars
14. Black Sheep Of The Family

RATING: 4/10

It's hard for me to imagine what YNGWIE MALMSTEEN must have been thinking when he allowed something as sonically hideous-sounding as this musical abortion to leave his hands and be sent to the pressing plant as a representation of his work. By far the worst-sounding of all his albums, War To End All Wars boasts an absolutely horrible drum sound and a guitar tone that is absolutely horrendous—so much so that this CD actually would have been much more credible if it contained the album's "rough" studio mixes rather than the completed product that the once-perfection-minded guitarist had clearly signed off on.


As far as the material is concerned, War To End All Wars is a largely forgettable affair, featuring songs that are essentially re-treading previously charted musical territory and that are lacking anything resembling the kind of killer hooks that YNGWIE's past musical high-points used to be chock-full of. Virtually everything on this CD has been heard before, and it almost always sounded so much better than it does here—from the standpoint of the production all the way down to the songwriting itself, which comes across as uninspired and workmanlike throughout the 14-song effort.


Whatever trip YNGWIE is on, I sincerely hope he snaps out of it pretty soon, because his standing in the rock world is about to hit a new low-point. War To End All Wars is a disastrously poor follow-up to the disappointing Alchemy release, and it is a clear indication that the Swedish guitarist has hit a creative snag—one that could seriously jeopardize his long-term career.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).