A PERFECT CIRCLE: New Song 'By And Down' Available For Streaming

A PERFECT CIRCLE: New Song 'By And Down' Available For Streaming

A PERFECT CIRCLE, the multi-platinum rock band helmed by Maynard James Keenan (TOOL, PUSCIFER) and Billy Howerdel (ASHES DIVIDE), has premiered its first new song in a decade, "By And Down" via Spin.com.

"By And Down", which is included on the outfit's forthcoming greatest-hits release "Three Sixty", was written after A PERFECT CIRCLE returned from its self-imposed hiatus for a series of live performances throughout 2010 and 2011.

"Three Sixty" will be released on November 19 via Universal Music Enterprises (UMe).

"Billy and I created A PERFECT CIRCLE out of a now long-running friendship, and I think the music we have made reflects that personal connection and has given us the ability to further develop and trust our intuition," explained Keenan. "I feel 'Three Sixty' is an accurate representation of that friendship and those instincts."

In a brand new interview with RollingStone.com, Keenan stated about "Three Sixty": "Of course, record companies always have their little clause in their contract, about their right to release a greatest-hits record. I think that can be kind of weird sometimes, when you see 'the greatest hits,' no, no — 'the greatest greatest hits.' Releases by a record label that the band had nothing to do with, and there's several versions of the same thing, over and over again. That's kind of why we did the DVD and the box set. If you're going to release a greatest hits, we should also offer something that's not just the old recordings, rearranged. But on that greatest hits, there's going to be the studio version of 'By And Down', which is the new track that we've been working on, that we never quite got around to recording."

A PERFECT CIRCLE formed in the late '90s with Keenan and Howerdel making up the core of the band with a number of well-known musicians having recorded and/or toured with the outfit, including James Iha (SMASHING PUMPKINS), Troy Van Leeuwen (QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, FAILURE), Paz Lenchantin (ENTRANCE BAND, ZWAN), Jeordie White (MARILYN MANSON), Josh Freese (THE VANDALS, DEVO) and Tim Alexander (PRIMUS).

A PERFECT CIRCLE also recently announced the release of a limited-edition box set titled "A Perfect Circle Live: Featuring Stone And Echo". The collection, which focuses on the band's live outings from 2010-2011 includes a full-length DVD of the outfit's August 2011 Red Rocks concert (with accompanying audio) as well as a 3-CD collection of live releases, one dedicated to each of the three studio albums from the band's discography. The collection is available on November 26.

"Three Sixty" track listing:

Standard Edition

01. The Hollow
02. Judith
03. Orestes
04. 3 Libras
05. Weak And Powerless
06. The Noose
07. The Outsider
08. Blue
09. When The Levee Breaks
10. Imagine
11. Counting Bodies Like Sheep To The Rhythm Of The War Drums
12. Passive
13. By And Down

Deluxe Edition

Disc 1

01. The Hollow
02. Rose
03. Judith
04. Orestes
05. 3 Libras
06. The Package
07. Weak And Powerless
08. The Noose
09. The Outsider
10. Blue

Disc 2

01. Imagine
02. Passive
03. People Are People (live)
04. Counting Bodies Like Sheep To The Rhythm Of The War Drums
05. When The Levee Breaks
06. By And Down
07. 3 Libras (live)
08. Gravity (live)
09. Fiddle And The Drum (live)



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).