ENUFF Z'NUFF Frontman To Release 'Extra Strength' Next Week

While a lot of artists are doing cover albums, ENUFF Z'NUFF's Donnie Vie decided to do something a little different and cover himself. Donnie took one of ENUFF Z'NUFF's most loved albums, 1991's "Strength", and recorded acoustic and alternate versions of the songs for his new album, "Extra Strength". A preview stream of six tracks from "Extra Strength""Heaven or Hell", "Baby Loves You", "The World is a Gutter", "Mother's Eyes", "It's No Good" and "Missing You" — is available on www.myspace.com/antimusic.

The album will hit stores in the UK next week (November 26) on Cargo Records. For the U.S. fans (and everywhere else) Donnie is offering one new song for digital download every two weeks from his web site. The digital release will include alternate versions of "Baby Loves You" and an A Cappella version of "Mother's Eyes" that are different from the versions on the UK release. Both feature "It's No Good" from the "Seven" album and the UK version features a cover of THE BEATLES' "In My Life".

The idea for this project came from the fans. One of the most heavily traded and most requested ENUFF Z'NUFF bootlegs is a three-hour 1993 radio appearance where Donnie and Chip Z'nuff performed dozens of songs acoustically. Known as the Y108 tape for the radio station, it quickly became a fan favorite. Donnie saw some fan postings about the Y108 tape on his fan club message board and decided it might be fun to give fans studio recordings of acoustic versions of some of the songs and he enlisted his friend Tim Tame to help. The idea quickly turned into re-recording a full album and Donnie selected the band's sophomore effort which earned them a hot artist honor from Rolling Stone when it was released and also ranks at the top among ENUFF Z'NUFF fans when polled about their favorite albums. Once recording got underway, Donnie's creative side took over and the album became much more than simply acoustic re-recordings of the album tracks. There are also rumblings that Donnie may give the "Paraphernalia" album the extra treatment next.

"Extra Strength" track listing:

01. Heaven or Hell
02. Missing You
03. Strength
04. In Crowd
05. Hollywood Ya
06. The World is a Gutter
07. Goodbye
08. It's No Good
09. In My Life (UK Only)
10. Baby Loves You (US Only)
11. Mother's Eyes (A Cappela Version is for US Only)
12. Long Way To Go
13. Blue Island
14. The Way Home
15. Time To Let You Go
16. Baby Loves You (electric - UK Only)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).