SEETHER Frontman Is 'Offended By The Vapid And Self-Absorbed Culture That Has Become Mainstream'

SEETHER Frontman Is 'Offended By The Vapid And Self-Absorbed Culture That Has Become Mainstream'

SEETHER will release its seventh full-length studio album, titled "Poison The Parish", on May 12 via frontman Shaun Morgan's new label imprint Canine Riot Records.

Recorded at Blackbird Studio in Nashville, Tennessee, "Poison The Parish" marks the first album produced in its entirety by Morgan.

The album's lead single "Let You Down", premiered earlier this week, and the track's horror-inspired video can be seen below.

Asked about the overall theme of the new album "Poison The Parish" and the relevance of the album title, Morgan told iHeartRadio: "I think, on a subconscious level, that I was starting to write more and more about societal behavior, and not so much about personal relationships necessarily.

"The lyrics would start out being about something specific and then start to spread the net wider to encompass more of what I see every day. I guess, in a way, this was some sort of awakening for me — the progression of not only commenting on my own life but on the people who make up this really angry society we live in.

"I started being more and more offended by the vapid and self-absorbed culture that has become mainstream, and essentially, the supposed role models for the next generation. These assholes that are glorified on social media and reality television are poisoning the youth to think it's okay to be talentless and stupid, just as long as you know how to pose for a picture. It's just horrific to me."

Morgan also talked about the making of "Poison The Parish", explaining: "The writing was done in the usual way where I hole up in my studio for months and write as many songs as possible until I am satisfied that I am ready for an album. Then a selection process happens so that we have the final fifteen tracks which are to be recorded.

"I produced this album and Matt Hyde engineered, so that was a first for me.

"I knew what I wanted this album to sound like and I felt that the songs were as good as they could be, as far as the demos went.

"We treated every song the same and didn't focus more on singles or what could be perceived as such. The goal was to make the album and then make those decisions.

"Every time we have made an album before there were certain songs that were earmarked for radio and they received more attention than other tracks and I felt that was a disservice to the band and to the listener.

"This album is the closest reproduction of what I heard in my head that we have had and I'm very proud of that."

SEETHER also just announced the fifth annual Rise Above Fest, the largest suicide awareness event in the world, which will be held Saturday, July 22 and Sunday, July 23 at Darling's Waterfront Park in Bangor, Maine. This year's performers include KORN, SHINEDOWN, STONE SOUR, SKILLET, HALESTORM, FALLING IN REVERSE, and more.

"Poison The Parish" track listing:

01. Stoke The Fire
02. Betray And Degrade
03. Something Else
04. I'll Survive
05. Let You Down
06. Against the Wall
07. Let Me Heal
08. Saviours
09. Nothing Left
10. Count Me Out
11. Emotionless
12. Sell My Soul



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).