TESLA: Guitarist DAVE RUDE Named Official Member

TESLA bassist Brian Wheat has issued the following update:

"We are real proud to announce the 'Real to Reel World Tour'. For the first time in 15 years we will be playing Europe and plans to go to Japan are in the works. But don't you Americans fret as we will be playing more than the usual stops in America.

"In case you don't know, we just started our own record label, Tesla Electric Company Recordings, or as we like to call it, TECR. After years of making records and watching record companies not promote them the way the band felt they deserved, we decided to do it ourselves. With the help of the man who discovered us, Tom Zutaut, at the helm, and a very strong team of people at the top of their field, we will be bringing it to you everywhere this year!

"Come see us on the road for two hours of TESLA hits, songs from 'Real to Reel', and some various surprises along the way.

"Also, we would like you all to welcome the newest member of TESLA, Dave Rude [guitar], who is now officially in the band.

"You can buy 'Real to Reel' on June 5th at all retail outlets, such as your Best Buys, Wal-Marts, K-marts, Targets, and your local record store.

"For the U.S. shows only, when you buy a ticket to a TESLA headlining concert, you'll get a free 12 song bonus disc, 'Reel Two', that will be available at the show for you to pick up with your ticket stub. As far as Europe and Japan, it's still in the works on how we will distribute this disc."

TESLA has posted online some of the songs on its upcoming covers album, "Real to Reel". In addition to LED ZEPPELIN's "Thank You", which TESLA chose as the first single, the band has now posted online full versions of their covers of the JAMES GANG's "Walk Away", "Ball of Confusion" by THE TEMPTATIONS, and "Rock Bottom" by UFO. The tracks can be accessed at the new web site TeslaRealToReel.com.

In addition, the band has posted three songs at their MySpace page. "Thank You", DEEP PURPLE's "Space Truckin'", TRAFFIC's "Dear Mr. Fantasy", and THE BEATLES' "I've Got a Feeling" can be listened to at www.myspace.com/teslatheband.

"Real to Reel", which also includes songs originally made famous by the GUESS WHO, THIN LIZZY, ROBIN TROWER, URIAH HEEP, DEREK & THE DOMINOS, and THE ROLLING STONES, comes out June 5.

TESLA has recorded a second covers album, with the title "Reel Two", which will be given to fans at their North American tour stops beginning June 7 in Santa Rosa, California. That collection features tracks originally recorded by MOTT THE HOOPLE, MONTROSE, BAD COMPANY, BACHMAN-TURNER OVERDRIVE, THE ROLLING STONES, ALICE COOPER, SLY & THE FAMILY STONE, PETER FRAMPTON, ZZ TOP, AEROSMITH, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, and BLACK SABBATH.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).